InkWork

Organizing, Advocacy, and Knowledge Work

Adjunct Organizing

Posted by sethkahn on March 10, 2008

From today’s (March 10) Truthout–

http://www.truthout.org/issues_06/031008LA.shtml#

Adjunct faculty in Michigan are organizing rapidly. I’ve seen many of these numbers before, but the way they’re compiled in this article makes them very powerful. At Wayne State U in Detroit, adjuncts outnumber tenured/tenure-track faculty 4-1. You can read the article to see more; even writing them makes me furious.

–Seth

One Response to “Adjunct Organizing”

  1. mslynch said

    Thanks for the link, Seth! Before I came to KU, I was a “part-timer” at a single college with three–count ’em–part time contracts. I worked more hours than a full-timer, but with no health plan and less than half of the pay.

    That’s one reason that labor issues are important to me; I promised myself that I wouldn’t ignore those troubles once I had a more comfortable position.

    Like the folks in the article you linked to, I felt disconnected from the other adjuncts at my school. We were too busy to ever see each other! If only more institutions would organize.

Leave a comment